Remove this ad

Lead

Dec 20 09 10:46 PM

Tags : :

Hi All, 

I am trying to trace my childhood records but cannot find any information on the home, I have looked on here and seen a Olgilieve hoouse and wondered if it is the same home as used to be called Camberon House, I was only little when I left but I am sure this is what it was called...

Any info on this would be really helful so I know where to start with my trace

thanks Dave

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Dec 18 10 1:04 AM

Reply to: Does anyone remember a childrens home in Whalley Range Manchester called Camberon House

I know of a home that was in Whalley Range in the early 70's.It was called Burford.It was in Clarendon Road.Whalley Range.Manchester.It was then a Remand Center/Assessment Center for Girls only.I cannot find any info about the place at all.I have been looking for this place for a while as I was a resident there in 1974/75 for a while.I have no history on Burford so dont really know if perhaps it was a childrens home before hand.There was a scandal in the news surrounding the place and it was closed down a few years after I left. I hope this is of use to You.I know its a wee bit late,but I've not long joined this forum.Christine.

Quote    Reply   

#2 [url]

Apr 7 11 5:55 PM

I was in a home in Whalley range too for a short while but don't know it's name. It was in the mid 1950s. I too would love to know more about it as I'm writing my life story for my family. Hope someone can help.

Quote    Reply   

#3 [url]

Feb 23 12 10:25 AM

yeh their was a home name camberon house one of my family was in their and i was in burford house i will try and get hold of my family member and if you are still looking se if she as any info for you..

Quote    Reply   

#8 [url]

May 28 13 11:16 PM

YE I WAS IN THEIR IT WAS CALLED BURFORD THEN BACK IN THE 70S I WENT IN AROUND 73