Remove this ad

philip

fanatic

Lead

Apr 28 11 3:49 PM

Tags : :

BIRKDALE Westdene Harewood, 39 Oxford Road, Birkdale, Southport, Lancashire PR8 2EG
General branch for 12 children.
The money for the purchase and equipment of this branch, opened in 1965, was drawn from the development fund established from the proceeds of sale of and at Sutton Coldfield earlier that year.
   There is an ever-present demand for places for children from Liverpool and other parts of Lancashire and Cheshire and this well-appointed family group home, with space for children to play and the amenities of Southport’s beach close at hand, makes a welcome contribution.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Mar 27 12 3:25 AM

HI philip

i was a resident in Harewood oxford road birkdale  1976-1977 i think unsure of dates , i attended there with my sister theresa .
we were only there a short time whilst my mum went into hospital to have my younger brother and to get rehoused as we where temporary HOMELESS  !!   there was 5 of us children all together !!  myself and my sister where taken to harewood and my brothers where taken to Westdene  during our stay we had some fond memories i was at this time about 10 yrs old and my sister was 7-8 yrs old. i attended farnborough road school but sadly cant remember much about that lol. xx 

Quote    Reply   

#2 [url]

May 9 12 8:09 PM

Hi. I was in Harewood from 1972-1979. I remember Theresa(Green). My name is Angela Hilton. I to attended Farnborough Rd  and later Meols Cop. Do you remember the white van we used to all go to school in. I have a picture of Theresa and me trying on the panty girdles of Aunty Anne when we were on holiday. Do you remember being in the Girls Brigade? Please get back in touch. Thanks Angie xx

Quote    Reply   

#3 [url]

May 17 12 12:08 AM

hi angie hilton